About ASTech Foundation

Our Vision:

~To inspire the next generation of innovation~

The Alberta Science and Technology Leadership (ASTech) Foundation is a not-for-profit organization founded through an industry initiative in 1989 to showcase the substantial achievements in Science & Technology in Alberta and to promote the importance of these activities to social and economic benefit. ASTech has grown with the support of Patron organizations spanning major industries – including agriculture, health, education, energy and technology – all of whom recognize and celebrate innovation and excellence in Alberta.

Our Mission:  

~To identify and celebrate outstanding achievements in science and technology in Alberta~

The ASTech Awards are Alberta's highest science and technology honours, and it takes place every autumn in Calgary or Edmonton. The premiere event of its kind in Alberta, the ASTech Awards brings together 600 representatives from industry, government, media and educational institutions to honour and celebrate outstanding achievement in 13 categories covering the innovation system, sector-specific and leadership categories. The ASTech Awards recognize and celebrate our brightest minds and the greatest achievements of many outstanding individuals and organizations in the Alberta science and technology community.


Executive Committee:

David Hill, Chair, University of Lethbridge
Robert Tasker, Past Chair
Martin Kratz, Governance Chair, Bennett Jones LLP
Brenda Crickmore, Awards Chair, Syncrude Canada Ltd.
Vacant, Resource Development Chair 
Peter Kinash, Finance Chair, Replicon

Sue McMaster, Executive Director, Ex-officio            

Alberta Economic Development & TradeJutta Rohrschach           
Alberta Innovates Technology Futures: Scott Lundy

APEGAHeidi Yang
Community member: Ivan Sierralta
Dow AgroSciences CanadaRory Degenhardt
Foundation CMGRicardo Garza
Innovate Calgary: Tara Barnas
NAIT: Chris Dambrowitz
SAIT PolytechnicNicole Dunsdon
TELUS: Zainul Mawji
University of Alberta: Mara Simmonds
University of CalgaryJohn Reynolds